Border Crossing

Court House



Court House

Contact At:

26 Queen Street
Niagara on the Lake
ON,
L0S1J0,Canada

  (905) 468-4261




Court House:

The second courthouse in Niagara-on-the-Lake was built in 1847. So much had been removed from the former capital of British Canada, and in danger was the final power, the Courthouse for the Niagara Region.  Niagara-on-the-Lake wanted to ensure its part in the future of Canada, so famous architect William Thomas was hired. This is the same man who designed Brock’s Monument, The Don Jail in Toronto and much more. He came through with an amazing Victorian structure that would make any region proud as a symbol of justice and honour… and then the court seat was moved to St. Catharines in 1862. Numerous businesses have occupied the Courthouse since the mid-1800’s, including a market, post office, fire hall, library, suspender factory, and of course a theatre (the Shaw Festival’s most unique).  The theatre remains with office space held by Parks Canada and the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce.

Found on Google Map:

Comments

No comments posted yet!


Leave a comment:

       
Click on any date to view events


Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
   
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
   


LifeTree Cafe
Movie Nights at Old Fort Erie
Ghost Tours at Fort George
Health Niagara Summer Camp
Wild Magic Show - Starring Greg Frewin
Copyrights reserved © Shop Niagara 2017.